top of page
Paper _By_ _sjobjio_edited_edited.jpg
colour%20logo%20black%20background_edite

PARTICLE

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

UNM'S LITERARY MAGAZINE

Issue #13: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureVarsha Murali Kaushik

In conversation with Lilian Li




Debuting with a book that has struck a chord with a lot of local readers because of its fond familiarity, Lilian Li (LL) is the author of House of Koi, a story of identity and finding one’s future in their past. Lilian’s fresh voice and vivid writing has led readers to call her debut book wholesome, ‘unapologetically Malaysian’ and a trip to the past that is filled to the brim with nostalgia and memories. Her colorful bookstagram page is proof of her artistic creativity, not just as a writer but also as a designer (her window re-creations are simply beautiful!) and a reader. Today, Varsha (VMK) brings you a look into Lilian’s writing process, her experience as a writer as well as some of her most trusted writing skills.



 

VMK

What was your writing process like? How were you able to manage both studying and writing at the same time?


LL

I managed both studying and writing by prioritizing my time. When I was given the opportunity to publish, I chose to quit my university’s synchronized swimming team. It was a tough decision, but I knew the pool could wait for me whereas this book could not. All those hours I used to spend walking to the pool and training for nationals became my writing time. I went to classes and did all my homework in the daytime then dedicated my night owl energy to writing.


My writing process is a hectic one. I tend to write the chapters chronologically. I list out specific plot points I want to happen in the chapter, leaving what comes in between as ideas that fit the characters.


Organization is also key as my editors taught me to use a spreadsheet and link chapters that are still drafts, editing, or finalized. I have a messy list of random quotes, scenes, and ideas in my Notes app. When I’m stuck, I tend to look there first.



VMK

House of Koi is heavily inspired by the summer you spent with your grandmother, so are the characters like Sean and Uncle Lin based on real people? If they are, how were you able to draw the line between fiction and reality when it came to writing their characters?


LL

Technically, House of Koi is an autofiction, a fictional novel inspired by my own life. Sean is maybe (hahah) inspired by my own partner whom I got together with in high school. All the butterflies readers feel with Sean’s scenes? Those are real. As for Uncle Lin, he is based on a real uncle who has a pancake business rivalry with his brother in Penang! I also grew up having an ice-cream uncle who showed up after school, so I wanted to add that nostalgic memory. When drawing the line between fiction and reality, I still twist everything. It’s just the memory that inspires me, and I create a new story out of it, just like how we can create new stories out of everyday life.



VMK

What has been the biggest challenge you’ve had to face as an author so far?


LL

To keep writing. And not knowing when people will be tired of me talking about my book (hehe).



VMK

Are there any plans in the future for a sequel to House of Koi?


LL

To be honest, I never had plans for a sequel. I know the ending felt abrupt to some, but the ending felt right to me because it was inspired by my life, and I’ve lived through the ending of that phase. But because so many readers and bookstagram friends told me they wanted more from Mila and Sean, I do have lots of scenes and new stories floating in my head. I’m definitely deciding which university they will all go to (hehe).



VMK

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?


LL

Write a story you’d dedicate to your younger self; one you wish you read. If I read House of Koi as a kid, I just know my whole world would have changed since Malaysian teenagers had more representation in literature.


Also, the longer you listen to your self-doubt, the longer it will take to reach your dreams. That blank page is not your enemy but a friend. Talk to it, ramble to it, just interact with the blank page.



VMK

Which authors or books have inspired you and continue to inspire you in your journey as a writer?


LL

Tan Twan Eng was the first Malaysian author I read, and it was so refreshing to read a book based in Penang. Then Kevin Kwan proved the need for more Southeast Asian stories in the market. I also especially loved Natasha Ngan’s books and how she incorporated Malaysia into her fantasy stories.



VMK

We would love to hear some writing tips from you for our writing tips section:

  1. What writing tip did you find the most useful / helpful when you were writing your novel?

  2. What are your top two writing tips that you think every aspiring author should consider?


LL

Set deadlines for yourself. It would also be helpful to let a friend know and hold you accountable! Also, every night, I prepare a to-do list for the next day. It’s basically a ritual now.


Ask yourself, “What kind of book do I want to read?” If you want to read it, there is an audience out there who feels the same. And most importantly, write a book for yourself. You’re the most important audience.




 

Note: this interview was conducted via e-mail.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page