top of page
Paper _By_ _sjobjio_edited_edited.jpg
colour%20logo%20black%20background_edite

PARTICLE

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

UNM'S LITERARY MAGAZINE

Issue #13: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureVarsha Murali Kaushik

In Conversation with Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau





Sun-kissed Paris, intriguing family histories, charming tour guides and passionate ballerinas come together in Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau’s (ASJ) bestselling novel Kisses and Croissants. We follow the story of American ballet dancer Mia. She arrives in Paris to attend a prestigious summer program as she discovers love, friendship and passion in a life-changing summer. Through this interview with Anne-Sophie herself, Varsha (VMK) brings you a look into her thoughts regarding descriptive writing, writing from experience and memories, the role of language in writing, as well as some of her most trusted writing advice for aspiring writers.




 

VMK

First of all, congratulations on Kisses and Croissants being such a hit amongst readers globally! What set you off on writing this book? Or what was the first idea about this book which made you decide to turn it into a full-fledged story?


ASJ

Thank you so much! I grew up just outside of Paris, in the countryside, and I’ve always had a deep appreciation for the city. There’s beauty on every corner, a lot of romantic spots, and art everywhere. I’d been thinking about writing a love story set in Paris that would also be a love story with Paris. There are a few YA novels about study abroad trips to Europe, so I liked the idea of my main character, Mia, having a different sense of purpose for going to Paris. I really enjoyed combining the city’s lights with the artistry and beauty of ballet.



VMK

You’ve written quite a number of books in French, but Kisses and Croissants was the first book that you wrote in English. What was it like, transitioning between the two languages?


ASJ

Some parts of the process have been relatively straightforward. For example, creating characters and building a plot are the same no matter the language. Developing my vocabulary in English and having a cultural understanding deep enough to write a book in that language took many, many years. There were no shortcuts!


But the biggest challenge was to go back to the beginning in a new country essentially. I had a strong relationship with my editors in France and lots of writing experience in my portfolio. I didn’t have either of these things in the U.S., so I had to start from scratch again, looking for an agent and then for an editor. I felt like a brand-new writer.



VMK

The book, indeed, is a beautiful love letter to Paris and French culture! Were you able to add your own experiences and memories of France into the book? How easy or difficult was it to write it in such a way that even people who haven’t been there could easily visualise it?


ASJ

Thank you! I’m glad you felt that way. I go to Paris regularly—and I went on a special research trip for this book — so of course, I added my own experiences. I tried to think about everything I love about this city, even the littlest details, and incorporated as many as possible. My editors are big Francophiles too, so they encouraged me to include even more French flavour within the pages.



VMK

One of my favourite elements of the book is how there are a good number of themes in the story. Mia’s quest to find out the history of her family, Louis and Mia’s romantic exploration of Paris, and the highly engaging and stressful ballet lessons at the summer programme, amongst many other elements – all of them are equally important to the story. How did you manage to strike that balance? Did you plot it from the beginning, or was it something you discovered and worked with as the characters and the story grew?


ASJ

I did have a detailed outline of the plot from the beginning, but the balance of the three storylines—the ballet, the romance, and the family mystery—still evolved with every draft. It was definitely a challenge to make it all work seamlessly together, but I like the fact that there’s a little something for everyone.



VMK

What are your plans going forward? Is there possibility for a sequel or spin-off of Kisses and Croissants, or a new idea you’re working on?


ASJ

It’s not a sequel or a spin-off, but I have a new novel coming out in spring 2023 which is also a young adult rom-com. It’s called French Kissing in New York, and it’s about a French girl who moves to New York to work in a restaurant and be with the dream boy she met last summer in Paris.


VMK

Finally, these are some questions for the writer’s section of our interview for readers who are also aspiring writers:


How do you usually plan out your story? Do you plot it all out in the beginning, or do you add elements as you go along? Do you use Pinterest boards or other such sources for inspiration?


ASJ

I start with a concept or idea and then expand it to a one-page synopsis with the key plot points. After that, I write a longer synopsis or chapter outline, with all the story elements and characters I can think of. Even though I try to be as detailed as possible, the story definitely evolves throughout the writing course. I have the outline on my desk, but I let the characters guide me along the way. If they want to do something different, I follow their lead.


In terms of inspiration, I sometimes use Pinterest boards to figure out what my characters look like and how they dress. I also read articles and books on the topics relevant to my story and interview people in the field.



VMK

According to you, what is more important to a story – the plot or the characters?


ASJ

Characters are why we read. We need to connect with the protagonists on some level to get invested in their journey. But what happens to them (the plot) is what keeps us turning the page, so I think both are important.



VMK

So much of the love I have for Kisses and Croissants is because of its vivid imagery; I really saw the sunsets of Paris and the little cafes and colourful roads throughout the book as I was reading! What would your advice be to writers who struggle with imagery / descriptive writing? Any tips?


ASJ

That’s a good question! In the days of social media, it’s easier than ever to find a picture or a video of what we envision (assuming you’re writing a contemporary/realistic story). My advice is to start by describing what you see and then change it up to your desire. Think of really small details, as they often make a description feel real. Also, switch up your descriptions. For example, if you describe one character’s hair and stature, focus on another one’s clothing or facial expressions. I also recommend looking for great descriptions in books, writing them down, and asking yourself what makes them work.



 

Note: This interview was conducted via e-mail.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page